'72 Mercury 7.5hp blue band carb probs

For pre 1975 outboards and race motors only.

Moderators: Alacrity, Rapier

wm_son
CMBA Member: 0

'72 Mercury 7.5hp blue band carb probs

Post by wm_son »

Newbie here and glad to have found this site! Learned quite a lot from a 2012 post from bigminiandy related to the exact same motor. My ser# is 3277955. Recently acquired and not getting fuel to plugs. It sat for years. I was hoping someone might have a parts explosion of the fuel system including the carburetor. Or possibly a brief synopsis of the steps I need to take to cure this. I'm thinking carb kit and remove all gum (parts soak). Any tips are greatly appreciated. Thank you.

haventaclue
CMBA Member: 924

Re: '72 Mercury 7.5hp blue band carb probs

Post by haventaclue »

Welcome to the forum and to insanity of old Mercs,proud owner of a 1969 Merc800/80HP :chuffed: .
Definitely a carb kit,exploded view, http://www.crowleymarine.com/mercury-ou ... /457_8.cfm .
Soak the carb overnight in carb cleaner,blow through passages with air
Spray some WD-40 or some lube in around the pistons and the top and bottom bearings before trying to start,spray through the carb inlet and let lube run down to bottom bearing,flip her upside down to get the top one,she's been laying up a long time.You'll also need to replace the impeller.Good luck
no matter how bad it is,it can always get worse,I'm an optimist

wm_son

Post by wm_son »

Thank you Haven't. Love your signature btw, so true and hilarious. I'm headed to the shop and will report back this weekend with success. Thanks for the impeller add also. I was raised on a circa '55 50hp Merc, short shaft, on 14' Alumnacraft. It flew and pulled many a fat skiiers (me one of them). My baby was a 10hp Hurricane on an 8' hydro. Plenty of fun stories there. At some point I will join CMBA. This site has so much information, and I've read many of the posts; I can see myself spending quite a lot of time here. Can't wait to dig in!