50hp Mercury - throttle setting

The technical area for everything relating to your powerplant. Post your questions and answers here...

Moderators: Alacrity, Rapier

alexARC
CMBA Member: 0

50hp Mercury - throttle setting

Post by alexARC »

Hello,

I am the happy owner of Gina who is now home in France.
There is a bit of work to do on the engine and I have never worked on a boat before.
The throttle cable seems corroded and does not move. I will probably replace it.

When I remove the engine lid, I could not really understand how it works.
This is the engine,

and here is what I found,

The butterfly are always fully open and does not seem to be connected to any cable + there is no air filter or grid (yellow arrow)
When I remove the throttle cable and move manually the throttle (blue arrow), the only part moving is the one pointed by the red arrow.

Maybe that's just normal?
I think I will bring the engine to a professional first (also for carb setting).

Thanks

haventaclue
CMBA Member: 924

Re: 50hp Mercury - throttle setting

Post by haventaclue »

http://www.marineengine.com/parts/mercu ... ol-linkage I think this is your throttle linkage.I think there's a link arm missing,though I can't really see from the photo
no matter how bad it is,it can always get worse,I'm an optimist

TOM91

Post by TOM91 »

Hi,
This is my first post. thought i'd sign up to help.
he bit in the yellow arrow is your choke, the actual throttle flaps are all inline through the carbs,
you should find that the throttle flaps open pretty much all of the way, and then the rest of the up-rev is done via timing advance.

Hope this helps...

Tom

alexARC

Post by alexARC »

Thank you. Not crystal clear yet but starting to get better though it is more complex than my 125cc karting carb...

Both arms are in place. So the bottom one is connected to the throttle flaps whereas the top one to the spark advance.
Choke flaps are only connected to the solenoid.