Yet another broom Gemini?

A dedicated area to showcase your ongoing and completed restorations.

Moderators: Alacrity, Rapier

totalbeginner
CMBA Member: 0

Yet another broom Gemini?

Post by totalbeginner »

As I bought it.
As I bought it.
Firstly, hi to everybody on the cmba forum.
As you may have guessed I'm new to this boating malarky, but I've spent many years looking at boats being towed thinking "if only". So long story short, trawled through eBay looking at basket cases & boats out of my price range when I came across what I think is a Gemini, 5 miles away from my house & looking quite good.
A quick trip to view it at dusk & it looked quite good although the paint felt 'strange' to touch. £200.00 changed hands & it was mine! Thanks to your forum I really bought it because it had a windscreen! Back home, fence panel down & it was in the garden.

Day one of the "It won't take long to tart it up". Out came the pressure washer & off came some of the black paint, oop's! Time to have a closer look, the paint was a liberal coat of Dulux's finest household gloss. As it was the first warm day we had this year I took a scraper to it & most of the paint fell off. 50% of the gel coat hadn't been keyed, the rest had, by Torvil & Dean skating on it. :hmmm:

Day two, (Pictures to follow) stripped everything off of the boat including most of the paint just leaving the corners & awkward bits for my sons to do, this is payback for nurturing them for over 20 years.