Simmonds #55 Restoration

A dedicated area to showcase your ongoing and completed restorations.

Moderators: Alacrity, Rapier

Bean
CMBA Member: 0

Simmonds #55 Restoration

Post by Bean »

Good afternoon,

I have just become the lucky custodian of Simmonds Ski Boat No.55 which I belive is an origonal Donald Simmonds built boat.
It appears very complete and origonal with its trailer and 1700 consul engine.

It does however need full restoration with some corrosion to cure engine to rebuild and interior to make.

I plan to restore it as origonal as possible with a possible addion of a small electric motor to work as a hybrid for river trips leaving the engine for more speedy trips and skiing.
I'm new to alluminium boat ownership having owned a couple of Glastrons in the past, but used to 50s engineering having not long restored a series 1 land rover.

Looking forward to getting started on it and will keep you posted with pictures as I go along and no doubt lots of questions which I thank you in advance for helping with!

Keen to hear from any other Simmonds owners especially locally to me in North Bucks.

Thanks

Simon
Attachments
1594726252845_20200711_180335_resized.jpg
20200711_170910_resized.jpg
20200711_180356_resized.jpg

Rapier
Site Admin
CMBA Member: 569

Re: Simmonds #55 Restoration

Post by Rapier »

Welcome, a few members have Simmonds, so someone more knowledgable might pop up here. Yours looks unmolested and has all the 'bits', if tired, so looks like a great project very worth saving. The worst issue may be making it watertight, most are 60ish years old and have been well used. Ours was terribly hacked about by someone wanting to put a Rover V8 in it, but resourceful CMBA member saved it. Worthwhile joining the association too - if you haven't already.
Fasten bra straps and remove dentures...

Bean

Post by Bean »

Thanks, I have joined CMBA just waiting for the bits to come through.